Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012- December

IMG_4796

Well here we are folks; my entries for the Tim Holtz December tags competition.

The original tags can be found here.

Noel-

IMG_4800

This one was fun. I really love rainbows and I was inspired by some tinsel sold at Woolworths. I just gave it a haircut before I used it

IMG_4812

All the techniques are the same except for the tag background and colouring in the baubles- I don’t have all the colours I would need in the Distress Stains so I used Distress Inks with the wrinkle free distress technique instead and the baubles were done by pressing the inkpads onto the craft mat and lifting off the colour with a water-brush to paint on the tag. Highlight were done in white acrylic paint and clear embossing powder for shine.

The Noel stamp is by Scrappy Cat; the Baubles by Stamp-It; The Musical Notes Tape by Francheville (I needed narrower tape than the Tim Holtz one); Distress Inks- Pine Needles, Spiced Marmalade, Worn Lipstick, Aged Mahogany, Faded Jeans, Chipped Sapphire, Dusty Concord; Distress Stickles- Pine Needles, Stormy Sky, Chipped Sapphire, Dusty Concord, Aged Mahogany and Antique Linen

Poinsettia-

This one is proof that I can do ‘traditional’ if I want to

IMG_4832

Again, all the techniques were more or less the same.

Background- Aged Mahogany and Tarnished Brass Distress Stains; Poinsettia- Spellbinders Layered Poinsettia (Couldn’t get the Tim Holtz Tattered Poinsettia. Ever tried getting a poinsettia die 4 days before christmas? I don’t recommend it), Aged Mahogany, Fired Brick and Pine Needles Distress Inks, dark green cardstock, Clear Rock Candy and Pine Needles Distress Stickles, Gold Grape Head Headpins; Flourish- the letter ‘S’ from a chipboard piece stained with Pine Needles Distress Stain, Gold Star; Wording- stamp is unknown! It doesn’t have a brand or anything on it sadly, stamped in Pine Needles Distress ink, background cardstock with Pumice Stone and Walnut Stain Distress Inks

I hope people like these tags as much as I enjoyed making them, they were well worth the effort. In fact, I was out shopping today for the background cardstock and red ribbon for the poinsettia tag and had naturally taken it with me so I could match them properly when this lovely lady in the shop complemented it! It’s so nice when people do that, thank you heaps. I hope everyone had a lovely safe christmas and all the best for the new year

Erin

Details…

IMG_4823 IMG_4820IMG_4828 IMG_4810 IMG_4819

This entry was posted in tags. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Tim Holtz 12 Tags of 2012- December

  1. Helen says:

    Great interpretations of Tims tags. Love the rainbow effect and the trimmed tinsel was inspired! Happy New Year!

    • Thank you! I saw the tinsel on sale last year and regretted not buying it. So when it came out this year I just had to get it and use it on something ASAP. All the best for the new year!

  2. Lovely tags! I am loving the rainbow look on the Noel one! The ornaments have the old-fashioned feel to them. Great background you accomplished. The traditional one is so lovely, Such a pretty poinsettia you made!

Leave a Reply

